Distilleries by Regions

Scotland is divided into several whisky regions. The number can be debated but most agree on four: Campeltown, the Highlands, Islay, and the Lowlands. Each region produces a distinctive style of malt and the quality of scotch may vary widely within and across each region. The following table identifies the major distilleries in each region and the number of whiskies produced by each. Unfortunately, distilleries come and go as do their product lines. The list is meant to be a guide but will not be 100% accurate.

Campbeltown – 2 distilleries

Distillery District Whiskies
Glen Scotia Campbeltown 2 whiskies
Springbank Campbeltown 7 whiskies

Highlands – 95 distilleries

Distillery District Whiskies
Aberfeldy Midlands 2 whiskies
Aberlour Speyside 4 whiskies
Allt-A-Bhainne Speyside (Fiddich) 2 whiskies
An Cnoc Speyside 2 whiskies
Aultmore Speyside (Isla) 3 whiskies
Balblai Northern Highlands 4 whiskies
Balmenach Speyside 2 whiskies
Balvenie Speyside (Dufftown) 3 whiskies
Banff Speyside (Deveron) 1 whiskies
Ben Nevis West Highlands 3 whiskies
Benriach Speyside (Lossie) 2 whiskies
Benrinnes Speyside 3 whiskies
Benromach Speyside (Findhorn) 2 whiskies
Blair Athol Midlands 1 whiskies
Brackla (Royal) Speyside (Findhorn) 3 whiskies
Braes Of Glenlivet Speyside (Livet) 1 whiskies
Caperdonich Speyside (Rothes) 2 whiskies
Cardhu Speyside 1 whiskies
Clynelish North Highlands 3 whiskies
Coleburn Speyside (Lossie) 2 whiskies
Convalmore Speyside (Dufftown) 2 whiskies
Cragganmore Speyside 3 whiskies
Craigellachie Speyside 3 whiskies
Dailuaine Speyside 4 whiskies
Dallas Dhu Speyside (Findhorn) 2 whiskies
Dalmore Northern Highlands 2 whiskies
Dalwhinnie Speyside 4 whiskies
Deanston Midlands 4 whiskies
Drumguish Speyside 1 whiskies
Dufftown Speyside (Dufftown) 3 whiskies
Edradour Midlands 3 whiskies
Fettercairn (Old) Eastern Highlands 1 whiskies

Islay – 8 distilleries

Distillery District Whiskies
Ardbeg South shore 5 whiskies
Bowmore Loch Indaal 9 whiskies
Bruichladdich Loch Indaal 5 whiskies
Bunnahabhain North shore 1 whiskies
Caol Ila North shore 4 whiskies
Lagavulin South shore 3 whiskies
Laphroaig South shore 4 whiskies
Port Ellen South shore 4 whiskies

Lowlands – 8 distilleries

Distillery District Whiskies
Auchentoshan Western Lowlands 4 whiskies
Bladnoch Borders 5 whiskies
Glenkinchie Eastern Lowlands 3 whiskies
Inverleven Western Lowlands 3 whiskies
Kinclaith Western Lowlands 3 whiskies
Littlemill Western Lowlands 1 whiskies
Rosebank Central Lowlands 3 whiskies
St. Magdalene Central Lowlands 2 whiskies

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *